Interesting situation...

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by eri444, Aug 31, 2010.

1. eri444

eri444 Rookie

Aug 31, 2010

I wanted to know your take on this.

This is my first year as a teacher in a middle school. I'll be teaching mathematics---my district consists of approximately 6-7 mathematics teachers. Last year, two of the teachers were leave replacements. At the end of the year, one of the permanent teachers decided she was going to leave, so the district posted for a new math teacher. Naturally, the leave replacements both decided to apply for the position, and so did others who saw the job posting.

I ended up getting the tenure-track permanent position; 1 of the 2 leave replacements were not asked back this year, and the other one is still working in the school (and has been working in the school for 3 years as a leave replacement). I don't know why she was not the one picked for the tenure track position, but we had teacher orientation this week and my mentor (one of the permanent teachers) sort of told me on the down-low, "I don't want to make you worried or anything, and we are a professional group, but we, as a department, did petition for Ms. XXXX to be placed on a tenure track before they decided to post the position up last year, so there might be some tension in the department since you as a new teacher were hired, and she is still on the leave replacement track."

I didn't really know what to say. I'm worried especially because she is still working in this department!

What would you do in a situation like this? I hate that I'm already starting off the school year in fear that I might have a department that resents me for taking a permanent position away from a leave replacement. Even if they don't mean to, I feel that they're going to take that out on me, even though I obviously am not the one who hired myself!

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Aug 31, 2010