interested in va career swithers but overwhelmed by praxis 11 content challenge

Discussion in 'Single Subject Tests' started by leigha41, Sep 3, 2012.

1. leigha41

leigha41 Rookie

Sep 3, 2012

Hi!
    I am interested in changing careers through va career swithcers. I graduated from college in 92 and am now 48 years old. I have worked in the hotel industry now for 10 years and it is a dead end. I have not been in school in years. Va requires you to endorse in critical shortage area so my closest bet there is middle school language arts. I have to pass praxis 11, test 0049 I think. I bought the test prep and am now very discouraged as the amount of information that I must relearn is overwhelming. I can do the grammer, but I am so overwhelmed by the literature that I am lost and already feel defeated. I did well with English in High School and College, but am simply overwhelmed by the knowledge needed to pass this test. Does anyone have advice? Maybe I should not go this route? All comments are welcome and appreciated. :help:

3. Pisces_Fish

Pisces_Fish Fanatic

Sep 3, 2012

I would find the time to volunteer at a school or after school program before you even consider passing Praxis. I don't mean this to come off as snide, but just because you did well in MS and HS that does not mean you will like teaching.

I'm also confused about the critical shortage area. I've never heard of there being a critical shortage in Language Arts, but maybe that's specific to your area.

Good luck with your decision, and if you decide to make the leap, head on back here! I found this place when I started Praxis and I never left :lol:

4. leigha41

leigha41 Rookie

Sep 3, 2012

These are the endorsement areas to choose from:

Career Switcher
    Endorsement Areas

Middle School Mathematics (6-8)
    Middle School English/Lang. Arts (6-8)
    Middle School Science (6-8)
    Middle School Social Studies (6-8)
    Mathematics (6-12)
    English (6-12)
    Biology (6-12)