Interested in Head Start Pre-K Position. Info/tips?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by av71523, Jun 16, 2016.

1. av71523

av71523 New Member

Jun 16, 2016

Hello,

I am located in GA, and I'm interested in applying for a Head Start Pre-K lead teacher position in my county. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Early Childhood Education, but my classroom experience is limited to tutoring during middle school and high school, my one-year high school elective as a pre-k teacher assistant (3 year olds), and my student teaching experience in a 5th grade classroom.

During my clinical observations, I did not have the opportunity to visit a Head Start classroom. If any Head Start employees could give me an insight into your typical day, your curriculum (again, I'm located in GA, but I'm interested in feedback from all areas), the pros and cons of the job, and the hiring process (especially interview tips), I would be so grateful!

Thanks in advance for your help.

3. ChildWhisperer

ChildWhisperer Groupie

Jun 16, 2016

This will differ depending on if you're full day or half day. We have a few classrooms that are full day (kids are there 9am-3pm Mon-Fri) and the rest are half day classrooms (AM: 8-11:30 and PM: 12:30-4, but only Monday-Thursdays. Fridays are teacher planning days).

There is A TON of required paperwork (CACFP, attendance, meal count sheets, snack count sheets, status changes, portfolios, anecdotal notes, 2 different types of assessments for each child, accident reports, unusual incident reports, parent/teacher conference forms, home visit forms, etc etc.) If it's not written down, it didn't happen.

Here was our typical day this year (I taught half-days):
    8:00 - Children get dropped off either by parent or by the bus
    8:10 ish - Bathroom / Wash hands
    8:20-8:45 - Breakfast
    8:45-9:15 - Circle Time
    9:15-10:15 - Center Time / Brush Teeth
    10:15-10:30 - Story Time
    10:30-10:50 - Gross Motor / Recess
    10:50-11:05 - Snack