Interactive notebooks

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Rabbitt, Jun 29, 2016.

1. Rabbitt

Rabbitt Connoisseur

Jun 29, 2016

I am completely new to interactive notebooks.
    What are they? What is the purpose? How often does a student make a page? Do you use them with all subjects?
    On TPT I see examples. To me the math ones look like one lesson and then kept as a resource for students.
    The sight words looks like practice.
    Any information would be appreciated as I've never seen one used.
    Grade 2

Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  3. Rabbitt

Rabbitt Connoisseur

Jun 30, 2016

I thought this would be a popular topic. Hahaha
    Maybe these notebooks are used as much as I assumed...or beneficial.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Jun 30, 2016

I've seen them, heard about them, and even done some in professional development, but just can't get myself to do them. Part of that is because I have so much else to focus on and learn right now, but it also just doesn't fit my teaching style. I think that they can be highly helpful if it's taught to be used as a tool/resource and not just as fancy-fun activities that artificially are trying to grab engagement on a temporary basis, and thus I try to find ways to incorporate aspects of them without straying from my own style.

From what I know of them, the purpose is to increase engagement while simultaneously having them develop a resource that they can look back to. It could vary from one thing a day for math, to one thing a week for reading (perhaps one comp. strategy a week)...depends on the teacher and how they're using the notebook. Math seemingly is the most common one, but I've seen people use it for reading/writing/SS a lot, too.

5. Rabbitt

Rabbitt Connoisseur

Jun 30, 2016