Interactive Notebooks--Anyone else's a disaster?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by MDinMA, Oct 17, 2007.

1. MDinMA

MDinMA New Member

Oct 17, 2007

Hi everyone,

I'm a first year teacher and I tried to implement interactive notebooks into my curriculum this year (I teach 8th grade U.S. History in a highly successful charter school in Massachusetts). However, I have found that because my class periods are so short (50minutes, I'm used to 90) and because I have such big lessons, I am not finding time to dedicate to the maintenance of the notebook. That extra 5 minutes or so is very precious. Besides, the logistics of the glue sticks and the making sure the 3 ring hole punch is on the correct side of the page, I'm finding that this operation is a disaster.

I'm thinking about phasing out the notebooks and trying again next year. I'm just wondering, first, if anyone else had this problem (so I don't feel crazy!) and also if anyone has any suggestions as to what I can do next time. Are Interactive Notebooks possible for the shorter class periods?

3. ancientcivteach

ancientcivteach Habitué

Oct 17, 2007

I use the notebooks in sixty minute classes, but I often use two days for my lessons. I've also switched to having the students glue in one day a week (Friday has worked awesomely for me)

I'm not sure what you mean about the three hole punch, but if you have any other questions I'd be happy to help!

4. Ms. Geography

Ms. Geography Comrade

Oct 17, 2007

Notebooks