Integer Hell

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by JMUteacher, Oct 8, 2008.

1. JMUteacher

JMUteacher Rookie

Oct 8, 2008

So I'm a new teacher and I've started a unit about integers (well I'm about a week and half into it). Right now we're working on Adding and Subtracting Integers and I'm at my boiling point. My kids seemed to really get the whole adding integer rules (we sang a song to row row row your boat) but now that I've added subtraction some of them are in total chaos. They are confusing the rules and I just don't know what to do. I also need to start moving on to the rules with multiplication and division but I'm dreading next Monday when I plan to start. Anyone have any advice on how I can help them keep the rules straight? (I've also given them about four different types of notes to help them see it, ie plain notes and also a flow chart etc).
    Thanks!

3. Charger

Charger Companion

Oct 8, 2008

I've been there. Every year I have kids who get it and several that never seem to understand. The problem is, even if they know how to do it, they don't want to take the time to work it through, so they make careless mistakes. I don't know how to solve the problem, even though this is my fifth year.

:confused:

4. mandagap06

mandagap06 Devotee

Oct 8, 2008

I do not know. I do know that we just got done doing that in college math. We were doing it with something like 6x + (-10x)=80 or 6x+5=12+(-45x) but its the same process as far as the subtracting or adding part goes.

5. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Oct 8, 2008