Instructional Aide

Discussion in 'Montessori' started by tara715, Apr 22, 2016.

1. tara715

tara715 Rookie

Apr 22, 2016

Hi! How would you go about answering the following question: Why are you interested in working at a Montessori charter school?

I know, I know, seems like a pretty cut and dry question. Here's my delimma - I am a previous preschool teacher, my daughter's current TK teacher informed me of the job postings at her school, she has asked me before why am I not teaching - any answer I say out loud doesn't seem substantial enough to put on an employment application.
    :)

3. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Apr 22, 2016

Can you share some of your answers - the ones you find insubstantial - with us here? Maybe we help you word them so that they are more substantial.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 22, 2016

What do you know about/connect to Montessori philosophies??

5. tara715

tara715 Rookie

Apr 26, 2016

I was first introduced to Montessori in 2010 via ECE courses. It just made sense to me. I was pregnant at the time and decided from the first time Maria Montessori was mentioned that this was the philosophy I was going to raise my child by, and that he/she would attend a Montessori school; whatever it took. I was able to get my daughter registered in her current school and have had the privilege of volunteering on a regular basis in her classroom. I love seeing the philosophies played out during work period and how confident the kids are in themselves. I also found it very interesting that, after being completely turned off my common core, montessori philosophies were "common core" before common core even existed. I love that critical thinking is a major component and the students not just being spoon fed information.

6. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 26, 2016