Insecure.

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by GeetGeet, Mar 18, 2013.

1. GeetGeet

GeetGeet Companion

Mar 18, 2013

Hi everyone!

I am reaching out here because I can't think of a better way to get feedback about an issue I have. I'll just say it--I am really insecure.

I am in my 8th year teaching high school art at a good school, my students are generally really nice and do their work and do it well. I get good observations and have generally good rapport with students and colleagues. So from the outside my insecurity seems to have no real merit. And maybe it doesn't. But those facts have not alleviated this horrible nagging insecurity that the students think I am a bad teacher or just don't like my personality.

I am not looking to be popular or to be friends with the kids, I just want to feel secure that they think I am good at what I do and respect me. I get so stressed out by the anxiety that it takes away from my teaching experience and exhausts me. That energy probably gets passed along to the kids...but I don't really know. But I do know that there are too many days where I come home feeling sad. I convince myself that the kids don't really like my classes or find them boring (because I teach art the kids have more of a choice to take my class, so there needs to be a bit of a fun factor involved--but it can't always be "fun" no matter what subject it is).

I have looked on ratemyteacher.com but I don't think that's reliable--it just seems that all the kids who have grudges go there to vent.

Has anyone else had this experience, and if so, how have you dealt with it? Any advice or words of wisdom?

Thanks everyone for reading...

3. Emily Bronte

Emily Bronte Groupie

Mar 18, 2013