Innovative Ideas Needed

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Cthdenver, Sep 30, 2007.

1. Cthdenver

Cthdenver Rookie

Sep 30, 2007

I have posted on here many times before. I am a teacher in a Brooklyn 5th Grade class. These kids spend almost seven hours in the morning in religious studies. I get them at 3:30 in the afternoon and have them until 6PM. I have 31 boys in my class. I teach Monday through Thursday. The School has a Computer room which we get to use a Math program on Tuesdays from 5:20 - 5:50 and a reading program on Thursdays from 4:45 - 5:15. The days that they dint have computers they have a 25 minutes break. Only one of those breaks is outside the other is inside the classroom. Other then that I have them to cover a normal 5th grade curriculum. Not supprising with a school like this most of the kids are about a year behind in most things. By the time the kids get to my classroom they have a lot of energy and have very little patience. I NEED TO COME UP WITH NEW HANDS ON IDEAS TO MAKE THIS WORK FOR THESE KIDS.
    YOU CAN SEE PICS OF MY CLASS HERE
    PLEASE GIVE YOUR HANDS ON FUN IDEAS TO MAKE A SCENARIO LIKE THIS WORK.
    THANKS

3. clarnet73

clarnet73 Moderator

Sep 30, 2007

What an interesting set-up! Seems like that's a long day for your kids... so my guess is that you're going to need to make your lessons as interactive and hands-on as possible.

I don't teach 5th, so I don't have any specific content-related suggestions. But I'm thinking that things like reading are more interesting when you can read aloud, act things out, etc.

If we have an idea of what particular content you're working on right now I know I'd be more help!

4. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Sep 30, 2007

reading = plays
    science = experiments take them outside to do the experiments as a bonus.

5. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Sep 30, 2007

I PMed you but looking at your photos really gives me a better idea of your class.