inclusion

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by Guest, Sep 24, 2002.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Sep 24, 2002

Hi I am finishing up my graduate degree in special education. I have some experience as a teaching assistant in approved private school, but none ion public. I keep hearing that inclusion is the trend, but teachers are frustrated by the way the system is set up for inclusion. any thoughts

3. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Sep 24, 2002

Regular Ed teacher usually don't get the support needed in order to serve special ed students properly in their room. Some SPE students can function in a Reg. Ed. room. Other student cannot function in a Reg Ed room. Think about it... which makes more sense... SPE kid in a Reg Ed room with 20+ kids or SPE kid in a SPE room with 10 SPE kids and probably an aide or 2 if they are lucky. There are some cases the SPE child needs to be in the REG society for social purposes... how to behave and act "normal" if anyone really acts normal now-a-days. If they are in a SPE class with students that are immature and the SPE child regresses, then put them in the REG room so they can improve socially. Most of these students will function in the REG society after school so they need to know how to fit in.

I have a 23 yr old brother with Downs. I would not have wanted him going to my high school. He went to the county's center that had the lower functioning student there. I wasn't too happy with what he learned there but I know he was safer there and was accepted by the other students there. He needed life skills but wasn't taught them... paper work mostly... but that is another soap box.

I hope that made sense... my 2 cents worth. :)

Lori

4. erinkate

erinkate Rookie

Sep 25, 2002