Inclusion teachers: How do you explain Sp Ed to students?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Mellz Bellz, Aug 26, 2013.

1. Mellz Bellz

Mellz Bellz Comrade

Aug 26, 2013

I'm curious with how you tend to bring this up with your inclusion students. As a middle school teacher, I feel by 6th grade my students need to understand what being in the Special Ed program is and what it isn't. At the middle school they are being expected to be more accountable for their learning and will need to start to learn how to use the resources that are availble to them to their best advantage. Even though legally most of them are too young to attend IEP meetings, our Sp Ed director encourages us to start including them. I agree with this because I feel by this age a student is the best one to tell us what helps them and what doesn't as far as classroom and testing mods go.

I find that by 6th grade many of them have no idea what an IEP plan is or even that they are receiving Sp Ed services. When I do slip and use the phrase "EC" I usually get "I'm not EC! Those are those kids in that 'special' class!"

So, I guess I'm asking how do you educate your students?

3. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Aug 26, 2013