Including students with severe disabilities

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by mouse7, Jan 21, 2008.

1. mouse7

mouse7 Rookie

Jan 21, 2008

I am a 2nd grade teacher who is studying for my degree in special education. One of my assignments is to hear what regular education teachers have to say about including students into their classroom who have severe disabilities. Like what are the advantages and disadvantages of inclusion?

3. rchlkay

rchlkay Companion

Jan 22, 2008

Honestly, I find it very difficult to include students with severe disabilities. I think the most interesting part of your question though is what is considered severe. When I think of severe, I'm thinking about students who have multiple disabilities, physical and cognitive. I have worked with students who are in high school but function at approximately the level of a two year old and less. A high school spanish class is simply not the appropriate placement for a student like I described. Now if we're talking about an elementary aged child with say, Down Syndrome, I think it's certainly appropriate to have her included in the Gen Ed room. She may not understand everything or be able to learn the same things, but she should certainly be included for the social interaction and exposure of grade level concepts. I think the important thing to remember is that the placement has to be appropriate for both the child with a disability and for the other students. Sometime the gen ed room is simply not what's best for the child.

4. bcblue

bcblue Comrade

Jan 22, 2008

Are you looking for responses from sped or gen ed teachers? (I teach sped).

Rchlkey is right--sometimes the gen ed room is not what's best for the child. The law states "free APPROPRIATE public education" as well as "least restrictive environment" and gen ed can be restrictive for some students.