Inauguration Ideas for K

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by Jazzy*Jai, Jan 17, 2009.

1. Jazzy*Jai

Jazzy*Jai Rookie

Jan 17, 2009

Hey guys,
    I am looking for age appropriate ideas for the children. They are super excited about Barack Obama and I know they will just be excited to see him. I also know they will get tired of watching after about 30 minutes. Any suggestions?

3. kinderokSA

kinderokSA Rookie

Jan 18, 2009

Hi Jazzy*Jai

Im a Kinder teacher too. I found this awesome printable book and song on Dr Jean's website. It's titled "Our New President" - I think it would explain the process of becoming president. (not in too much detail). The book also talks about his family and the "new dog" for the girls.

4. treysmom

treysmom Comrade

Jan 19, 2009

Our Weekly Reader covers it. I also found a printable book on the update page of Making Learning Fun.

5. MissR

MissR Comrade

Jan 19, 2009

I think I'm going to give my 1st graders a presidential coloring sheet in case they get bored. But, from what I've seen, the actual swearing in/speech should only be about 30 minutes. It looks like it is supposed to start about 11:30 Eastern time and he is supposed to be sworn in by noon, according to the constitution. I considered doing popcorn, just because it's a special day they won't see for another 4 years, and it's the first one they have any chance of remembering. I have a question: Did you have to get permission slips signed to watch the inauguration? We did, but weren't told until Thursday after school! We'll see how many kids get to watch.

6. undrpdtcha

undrpdtcha Rookie

Jan 19, 2009