In what ways are younger teachers treated differently than older teachers?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by riverdance85, Apr 12, 2013.

1. riverdance85

riverdance85 Rookie

Apr 12, 2013

Do HS students tend to talk back more at younger teachers than older ones? I am a young teacher (also beginning to grope classroom management skills), and I feel that students tend to talk back at me until I tell them to stop (and it works most of the time). However, I remember that back when I was a student teacher a few years ago (in another school district), the students did not talk back to my cooperating teacher, who was middle aged.

Also, I don't remember too much about kids back-talking to my old HS teachers from when I was a student a little over ten years ago. Then again, I behaved and so I didn't really pay attention to the bad stuff too much.

Thoughts? Is it me? Is it the difference in school districts?

I teach HS Spanish.

Gracias

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 12, 2013

I don't think it's age as much as its a teachers management skills.

4. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Apr 12, 2013

I think it does make a bit of difference. Teaching is my second career. While the life experience and wisdom probably helped with my classroom management, I did not have nearly the issues with disrespect my first year teaching that young teachers did.

Even during hall duty, where there were students that did not know either of us, I would get more respect automatically than the 23 year old fresh out of college.

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Apr 12, 2013

I think this as well.

6. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Apr 12, 2013

I think kids always want to test a new teacher. I had a few minor issues at the start of the school year and I handled them and I haven't had any problems since.

7. Croissant

Croissant Comrade

Apr 12, 2013