In need of some encouragement

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by HistoryGuy89, Aug 1, 2011.

1. HistoryGuy89

HistoryGuy89 Rookie

Aug 1, 2011

A friend recommended this site to me, so I'd figure I'd give it a shot. I graduated this May with a degree in 7-12 Social Studies, and a 2nd major in History. Since March,I have done about 35 applications to schools in 5 states, and haven't even gotten one interview. I'm honestly devastated, and have no idea what I'm doing wrong. I know the NE Ohio market isn't the easiest, but having done so many applications, and not even getting looked at, it really hurts :(

3. jenglish97

jenglish97 Devotee

Aug 1, 2011

Keep your head up high!

For my first teaching job, I was hired the Friday before Labor Day. We usually go back to work on the Tuesday after Labor Day. I only had one day to set-up and get the ball rolling before the children started the next day.

I would put your name on the sub list for a few of the districts. That is one way to get your foot in the door.

Good luck! Sending you some vibes and hope of encouragement.

4. labar

labar Rookie

Aug 1, 2011

I'm just throwing a BS statistic your way here (thought I'm sure it is not far from the truth), but probably 80%(-ish) of education majors that graduated this past May are in the same boat as you. This has been a trend for the last 2 years or more. That means those 80%(-ish) of people from the last 2 years of not finding a job; probably 50% of them have been looking and applying for teaching jobs this summer as well.

My best advice to you is to get yourself into the surrounding school systems as a sub. Keep looking daily for anything new to post on school websites (there will be people to leave for another job/district at the last minute), and just start preparing to be available to substitute when school starts back.