In need of advice.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teachtx, Apr 29, 2013.

1. teachtx

teachtx Rookie

Apr 29, 2013

After a very rough first year (both professionally and personally), I have decided that teaching is not for me. I had begun to suspect that it wasn't a good fit back when I was a student teacher, and my first year in the classroom only confirmed my suspicions.

I am not looking for anyone to talk me into sticking with it or giving it another year or two... I know that this is the right decision, and that's that. What I do need help with is where to go from here.

I'm starting grad school in the fall in order to change directions professionally to something I think will be a much better fit for me. However, I still need to work in the meantime. I've considered subbing, but I really worry about being able to make ends meet on that income. But I don't know what else to do. I've been applying for different jobs, things that aren't teaching-related but that I still feel I am qualified for... administrative jobs, HR, things like that. This process has been going on for a couple of months and I've yet to receive so much as a call for an interview. I suspect it has to do with the fact that I have one year of teaching and an education degree on my resume... I feel like employers look at that and wonder what I'm doing looking for a job in these fields when I'm a certified teacher.

Any advice? Should I just not mention my teaching experience/degree on my resume? Should I just give up and go back to waiting tables like I did in college? Is there a (non-teaching) job that's still education-related that I might be qualified for? (My emphasis is high school English, if that helps.)

Has anyone else left the teaching profession, or considered it? What did/will you do with your education degree? Any advice would be much appreciated!

3. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Apr 29, 2013