In need of a bit of encouragement-Seeking job in NTEX

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Lumi, Jul 17, 2015.

1. Lumi

Lumi Companion

Jul 17, 2015

I apologize in advance if this gets long. I will try to keep it short.

I am in my late 40's and have had a Texas teaching certificate since 1994. I graduated out of state in 1990 and it took me 4 years to get my certificate (no money for classes and the test - that was my first mistake) in the mean time I taught in private church based schools (my second mistake). The same time I got my certificate I got pregnant and chose to stay at home with my son for his first year (definitely not a mistake :wub:). After he was about two years old I started substituting and ended up getting a paraprofessional job in my dream elementary school with the hopes of getting my foot in the door for a classroom job. I was told at the end of the year that teachers need classroom experience in this school district and that they don't hire first years so my only choice was to stay in my para job. I opted to quit that job and stay home with my son. Got pregnant again and stayed home several more years until my daughter was in preschool and then took a pre-K job at her school and found out that I love teaching preschool. It's truly my passion and I am an excellent preschool teacher. I taught at this school for 7 years, the whole time trying to find a job in the public schools and then got burnt out and decided to go back to school for a second career. I went to classes for three years and neither opportunity worked out for me so I ended up going back to preschool. I got an immediate job working at a NAEYC school and worked there for two years. I decided to make one more serious attempt at getting into the public schools so I left that school and that brings me up to now. I have spent the summer filling out applications for all the local districts. I am in the north Dallas area and I know this market is saturated. I think being out of schoo