In Home Preschool Rate?

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by saralynn2006, Mar 30, 2012.

1. saralynn2006

saralynn2006 Companion

Mar 30, 2012

Hi Everyone,
    This summer I will be starting an all day, in home preschool. I have my degree in Early Childhood Education with endorsements in reading and special education. I will be licensed through Human Services to have a max capacity of 14 children (with one aide -- who also has a degree). I really don't know how much to charge hourly for this kind of program. There aren't really any in home preschools in the area, just daycare services. Daycares in the area are charging around $2.50 an hour per child, but also are not doing structured activities or any kind of educational program. Breakfast, lunch, and an afternoon snack will be provided for the children everyday. 1-2 projects will be done daily, as well as small group/large group activities. Basically run the same as most preschool programs following Creative Curriculum standards (that is the popular curriculum in my area).

My question to you is -- what do you think would be a reasonable cost per hour for my program? The lady from Human Services said she thought parents would gladly pay more to have their child come to my in home preschool than going to a regular in home daycare, but didn't say what price she thought would be appropriate.

3. WaProvider

WaProvider Fanatic

Mar 30, 2012

In my area if you were open for the children breakfast, lunch and an afternoon snack you would need a license. That is why my preschool has a license and is technically a "daycare" however, I NEVER would refer to my program as such. We are a full day, full year preschool program. Make sure your area will let you go unlicensed past 2.5 hrs.

4. SamIAm

SamIAm Companion

Mar 31, 2012