In a pinch... need Thanksgiving activity/craft fast

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by srfjeld, Nov 18, 2008.

1. srfjeld

srfjeld Companion

Nov 18, 2008

It just dawned on me tonight that Thanksgiving is next week. I mean, I've known that I have a break coming up, but I've been so focused on preparing report cards and getting ready for parent/teacher conferences that I completely forgot about the kids. I just went out and bought a few books to read and would like to follow up with some sort of craft for them to do on Friday before they leave for their break. A big theme I've come across in the books is "giving thanks/being thankful." I'm a first year teacher... any ideas out there? I've searched here and the web a bit, but just don't have the time to fully explore with grading and the other things I mentioned above hanging over my head. I'm already going to be late to bed b/c of my little venture out to the bookstore.... but I LOVE bookstores! :)

I am so "thankful" in advance! :love:

3. gab

gab Comrade

Nov 19, 2008

What grade do you teach? I don't know if this would be challenging to your students. Make or find a turkey head pattern and have students color/decorate their own turkey head. Students make feathers(with a pattern if you choose) in various autumnal colors. On the feathers students write things they are thankful for, either a sentence or words9depending on age), one per feather. The feathers could then be hole punched on the bottoms as well as the base of the turkey head. A brad could be used to secure the feathers behind the turkey head so students can fan them out. Or they could be glued to the back of the head but that might be messy. Don't know if that helps.

4. Beezus

Beezus Cohort

Nov 19, 2008

Placemats are an easy and traditional craft.
    I'm doing a couple native american crafts- tepees, and pouches/bags. We just read about a few different native american tribes in SS, and these are extension activities in the TE.