Improving reading comprehension

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sumnerfan, Aug 9, 2012.

1. sumnerfan

sumnerfan Comrade

Aug 9, 2012

There is a huge push this year at my school to improve reading comprehension at the high school level. What is your best tool or strategy for teaching and improving reading comprehension? The district office said they had a little money if we had something they could purchase to help improve reading comprehension. I'm thinking novel sets. What would you suggest?

3. HistTchr

HistTchr Habitué

Aug 9, 2012

I love Jim Burke's materials. I am a social studies teacher, but have used many of his English strategies in my classes. A lot of his resources are available for free on his website, http://www.englishcompanion.com, and on the English Companion Ning.

4. perplexed

perplexed Comrade

Aug 9, 2012

I like anything by Stephanie Harvey or Harvey Daniels.

5. tootgravytrain

tootgravytrain Comrade

Aug 10, 2012

High school level? This country's literacy (I'm working without the safety net of remembering the exact numbers I seen recently) rate was extremely more HIGH before public schooling and has been on the downgrade ever since. It's all about environment and desire and utility. This society is taking away the "value" of being literate when kids are born into a world where everything and everyone does their thinking for them. No incentive is what I'm saying.

My daughters are highly literate because they always seen me in school and reading for pleasure. Books are and were always around. I'm thankful to say my year and a half granddaughter would rather flip through a book than play with any toy.

I don't mean to be scarcastic or dismissive - but high school? Kids learned to read without schools because they HAD to to read newspapers and the King James Bible, and parents and extended families taught them.