Impossible to find a job in 2011?

Discussion in 'Art Teachers' started by laura304, Aug 13, 2011.

1. laura304

laura304 New Member

Aug 13, 2011

Hello,
    I have my undergrad degree in art (specifically graphic design) and I am thinking of going back to school to get my certification to teach art k-12. I know it depends on a variety of factors, but how difficult is it finding work as an art teacher? I have heard a lot of not so good things. :(

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 13, 2011

Good morning Laura, and welcome!

As I'm sure you realize, this has been a tough year for teachers in all disciplines. Tens of thousands of teachers were laid off due to budget cuts, and programs were slashed.

And art has always been incredibly tough. In my school of over 2,500 kids, I'm part of a math department of 22 teachers. Our art department has 2. (That's right, two.) Math meets every day, and everyone takes math every year. Art meets every other day, and I think only 7th graders, sophomores and seniors (all or some, I'm not sure) take art.

That said, some art teachers have gotten hired. A combination of flexibility on location, a great resume and cover letter, strong interview skills and plain old good luck seem to be the deciding factors.

4. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

Aug 13, 2011

After you get your Art credential, consider getting a 2nd certification so that a school can use you in more than one department.

5. ARTrageous

ARTrageous New Member

Aug 15, 2011

It is difficult to find an art position, but I believe it has been difficult for a long time. I looked for 6 years before finally finding a position. There were 10 times the amount of job postings for art this year than there were in years past. I applied to 20 some positions in my area and only heard back from one. Luckily that school district offered me the job!