Importance of Recess!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by YoungTeacherGuy, Nov 3, 2014.

1. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Nov 3, 2014

I know that I'm probably going to be in the minority here, but I'm going to go ahead and state my opinion. Please provide your input:

Recess is important. Our kiddos need to release pent up energy and the social skills they learn (sharing, taking turns, interacting positively with other) are invaluable.

However, there are teachers at my site who take away the same kids' recess EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. We have two boys who haven't had recess all year long due to incomplete homework.

Personally, I don't believe in punishing for incomplete homework (again--I know I'm probably in the minority on this one). As a teacher, I used to provide an incentive for completed homework for the entire month (I implemented something called "Lunch Bunch" where the kids would eat with me on the last day of the month, we'd watch a video together, & enjoy a special treat).

Yes--I know it's frustrating when the kids have chronic issues with incomplete homework. But do you really think taking away recess every single day is going to solve the problem??? :confused:

ETA: I just got back from recess yard duty and noticed that a certain (very hyperactive) student was missing from his group of friends who play soccer every day. I asked, "Where's so-and-so?" His friends said, "Oh, he has detention since he didn't do his weekend homework!" :(

3. stephenpe

stephenpe Connoisseur

Nov 3, 2014

As a PE teacher I agree with you completely. I let teachers try taking PE away sometimes to get a kids attention but everyday is insane. Children need that time outside to socialize and burn off some energy. It is proven that exercise each day is conducive to better classroom performance.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Nov 3, 2014

I don't think you will be in the minority from teachers around here.