Implementing Inquiry

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ali Kessler, Feb 16, 2019.

1. Ali Kessler

Ali Kessler New Member

Feb 16, 2019

Hello all! I'm a first year teacher and am pushing myself to bring as much inquiry into the classroom as possible. I teach 5th grade. We do a "Wonder Wednesday" each week where I pull a student question about their surrounding world from a designated bucket (where students can write down questions that will eventually be pulled). I pull a question each Wednesday and we talk about responses to this weekly question on Friday during our snack time / read aloud in the morning. Though at the beginning there were quite a few students answering these questions, interest has dwindled and I'm hoping to foster curiosity about their surrounding world. I have attached a $25 classroom money incentive to looking up the answer and writing it down to be shared out on Fridays and this still hasn't worked as I thought it might.

Any thoughts? Suggestions? How do you foster inquiry in your classroom? Do you have a similar weekly routine that you follow with your students?

Thank you in advance! :)

3. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Feb 16, 2019

Have you read The Curious Classroom by Harvey Daniels? It's an excellent guide for fostering curiosity and wonder in classrooms.

I think a really crucial part of inquiry is modeling your own learning. I wonder alongside my students and if I don't know the answer to questions, I ask my students where we can find out. I plan my units with inquiry in mind. We begin each unit recording our wonders about the topic and also our schema. Then we brainstorm ways to answer our questions and I help my students work with different resources. I try to follow their lead and interests as much as possible. Thankfully we have pretty flexible student learning outcomes, with no prescribed teaching materials, so I have a lot of freedom in my planning.