I'm working on a seating chart maker app, and would appreciate any ideas or comments!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by scm, Oct 27, 2019.

1. scm

scm New Member

Oct 27, 2019

Hello! I'm building an app for generating seating charts called SeatingChartMaker.app

I have some teaching background, but at the moment I'm working as a software developer. While the idea for the app did come from my own experiences, I feel that there's much that I don't know (or remember!) about teachers jobs! Also, as I'm Finnish, I'd be very interested to hear comments from teachers from other countries. Is this even a thing you would like to use a tool for?

- Are you currently using any tools for creating seating charts? How could they be improved?

- What features would make your life easier?

I would love to hear any comments or feedback from you!

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 27, 2019

I really would not be interested in another computer app to install, configure, protect from viruses, and figure out how to use when a piece of paper and pencil does the work quite nicely.
    Probably not the answer you are looking for, but just being honest with you.

bella84, Tired Teacher and MrsC like this.
  4. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Oct 27, 2019

Most gradebooks/attendance trackers have a seating chart maker already. That's what I use.

5. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Oct 27, 2019

For me, the most challenging part of creating a seating plan is considering the dynamics and personalities of the students. An app or program can't do that for me.

bella84 and Tired Teacher like this.
  6. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Oct 27, 2019

My gradebook has a seating chart maker also.

7. otterpop

otterpop Aficionado

Oct 27, 2019

If you did want to create an app, it would need special features to make it stand out. I’d suggest:
    • Being able to easily switch between seating formations with the click of a button, including groups of 4, rows, horseshoe, and so on.