I'm thinking about quitting

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Scientifical_3, Aug 28, 2008.

1. Scientifical_3

Scientifical_3 Rookie

Aug 28, 2008

Ok so I have been teaching for going on 3 weeks now and this is my first year. I have never been this stressed in all my life and everytime I turn around there is another job that needs to be done. Maybe I just am not cut out to be a teacher. I kind of got that feeling at the end of the first week, that I was in the wrong profession. So I recommitted the start of the second week, telling myself this what you want to do ya big dummy. That lasted all of half a day and I was miserable again. Now I have missed 2 days because I got sick for the first time in about 10 years. I dread going in day after day. The last day I was at school one of my students came up and asked Mr. ? why do you always look so sad? I didnt know what to say. If the students can tell I am miserable everyone else can too. I think it is time for me to move on. Maybe its just the school I am at or maybe its teaching in general. I don't know what to do. Does anyone have any advice?

3. Samothrace

Samothrace Cohort

Aug 28, 2008

I just finished up my first year of teaching so I feel what you're going through! I wouldn't give up so easily! Until you develop a rhythm and system to handle to overhwleming amount of paperwork, stuff/organization etc etc. I guess what you need to ask yourself, is it the teaching itself and the kids that is getting you down, or is it the paperwork/stuff that needs done?

If it's a paperwork thing get some students to help you! They are in middleschool and can handle that, especially if they have studyhalls. I know I always hated being in studyhall, the few times I did end up having it b/c I was always up on my homework and stuff so I would be a teacher's aide. He'd have us grade papers/tests etc.