I'm ready to quit and it's only december...

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by DCTeacher1, Dec 2, 2014.

1. DCTeacher1

DCTeacher1 New Member

Dec 2, 2014

I am looking for any advice that you may have...

I am a veteran teacher. I have been teaching for 9 years now and I have always loved my school and students. This year I moved to a new city and started teaching at a high school. It's the first time that I have ever wanted to leave a building because of the building environment itself(I have only ever left a school because of new professional or personal opportunities.)

This new school does everything I have ever disagreed with in any other building all under the same roof. They ignore behavior referrals. I was told to by my team leader that, "we can either teach fast or teach well, but not both. So we have to continue to teach fast." Students are moved into higher courses, with no regard to the student needs, just so the district can say they have students taking advanced courses. There is plenty of talk about students having to pass the state test at the end of the year, but no talk about how to help student actually learn and understand the material.

HELP! I know it is wrong to quit midyear, and I won't do that to my students, but I hate going to work each day. I'm not inspired to be there and leave the building as fast as I can at the end of the day.

How do I make it through until June???

3. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Dec 2, 2014

if you hate going to work,quit. Even if you think "it is wrong". I am pretty sure students can tell if you enjoy what you do or not.And you have no allegiance to the admin at this school. Be true to yourself. That's my :2cents:

4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Dec 2, 2014

I'm sorry. No advice for you, really. I'm right there with you. If you figure out how to make it to June, please let me know.