I'm overwhelmed!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Mom of 4, Oct 2, 2007.

1. Mom of 4

Mom of 4 Rookie

Oct 2, 2007

This is the truth, but I also feel like such a complainer: I can't imagine doing this job next year. I am overwhelmed! It's extreme. I don't know who to vent to, so here goes... A to Z Forum....

As some of you know, this is my first year contract as a RSP (check my last post out!), and I am already wondering whatever prompted me to go into Special Educ.. I can't even imagine hanging on for a year. I'm ashamed to admit it ... but I will: I'd quit if it wouldn't ruin my career.

Those of you with many years under your wings - tell me why you do this job.

I need encouragement ... again!

Mom of 4

3. AZSpedtchr

AZSpedtchr Rookie

Oct 2, 2007

Because I know I care about these kids and want the best for them. Because I might be the only adult in their life who cares.....

4. Learner4Life

Learner4Life Cohort

Oct 3, 2007

Awe I'm sorry you feel that way Mom! I agree with AZSped... Sometimes, hopefully not all the time, but sometimes, you're all they've got!

5. bcblue

bcblue Comrade

Oct 3, 2007

Sped is extreme--you're absolutely right. Your feelings are normal, and you shouldn't be ashamed. And it's hard b/c while general ed teachers face plenty of challenges, they are in many ways similar to the challenges faced by other general ed teachers, at least in terms of curriculum, paperwork, etc--the parts of your job that are overwhelming w/o even seeing kids. You, by definition are the "other person"--the one who is doing something different. B/c SOMEBODY needs to do it, and many people are glad it's you not them. That can feel isolating. SO: first you need to find yourself some fellow sped teachers in your building if you can, b/c they are people who understand what you are going through (even if they're in a different branch of sped. I'm life skills, the behavior room teachers and therapists have been some of my best support).