I'm getting my Masters for nothing.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jerseygirlteach, Sep 11, 2015.

1. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Sep 11, 2015

I'm a mess. I can't believe my district is doing this to me and I need to vent. Sorry, this is long.

I have a degree in communications. A few years ago, I went back and completed a 22 credit program to get my cert. in elementary education. So, I have a BA +22. My district (and, to be fair, most others around here) do not count those credits towards the salary scale because they were part of an initial cert program. So, that puts me at BA on the salary scale. A year after completing my elementary cert. program, I got my cert. in sped via an alt route program. The alt route program allowed me to complete 22 credits of my masters and then later the additional 15 to complete the program. So, when I finished the alt route program, I had a grand total of 44 credits past my BA. But, my district wouldn't pay me for any of it because they were for cert programs.

Okay, that stinks, but I figured I would eventually go back and get my masters and at least I'll move up then. So, I did go back and I'm more than half way done. It's been extremely hard, but the thought of the big salary bump has been pushing me through.

Well, I had a conversation with administration and it turns out I've been doing all this for nothing. They will not count the first part of my masters because it was part of an alt route program. Note that these are grad level classes, but they don't care. The second part of the program is 15 credits. They will count those, but that would only put me at BA + 15. I would need BA + 16 to move up the scale so I'll still be 1 credit shy - and that move is pretty tiny anyway.