I'm back in Michigan after my week of interviews

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by sasafras1000, Jul 17, 2007.

1. sasafras1000

sasafras1000 Rookie

Jul 17, 2007

Hello. I made it back from NC and I would say it was a pretty fruitful trip. A lot more came out of it than I had thought. I am still waiting to hear for sure if I got the job at the school I want badly. I am about to burst because there is so much I have to do if I am going to move. I ended up calling the HR director on Friday and asked him what the process of being recommended was. He said he just had to call references and do a background check. So it gives me hope that the job could be mine (I have no worries about the background check or references). Does anyone know how long a background check takes? I got fingerprinted here in Michigan and had a background check done, but I am not really sure how long the process is. Anyway so here I sit waiting.

I ended up calling the principal at the school I decided not to take. I was so nervous calling - even more nervous than doing an interview which is soooo stupid. Thank goodness I got him on the first try, I just thanked him for taking the time to interview me, but after careful thought I decided decline his offer. He was nice about it. I am also sending him a follow up thank you card for all his time. Whew, I'm glad that's over.