I'm a new teacher

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by 3aliyah, Jul 20, 2008.

1. 3aliyah

3aliyah Rookie

Jul 20, 2008

Hi
    I found this site after doing tons of searching for 4th grade classroom ideas. I'm going to teach 4th grade in the fall and I'm actually rather nervous about it. It's a private school and small. So that's good. The pay is horrible. And from what I saw of the teachers last year they were totally burned out and fed up with the administration. I've decided not to let this deter me though! Needless to say, I'll need lots of input just trying to put this classroom together. I have a few neat ideas but all in all... I'm a little scared....
    :blush:

- 3aliyah

3. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Jul 20, 2008

Hi and welcome,
    It is completely natural and okay to feel scared, nervous etc. You sound determined to have a great year and that is the first step. Keep frequenting this message board and read a lot. There are so many talented teachers in grade 4 and others that are always willing to lend an ear and share ideas!!!!!
    Congrats on your job!

4. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Jul 20, 2008

Stop at every garage sale and buy books for a classroom library.

Go to Wal Mart, Target and etc. And buy extra supplies while they are on sale. At Wal Mart glue 2 for 22 cents, notebooks 5 cents each ---lots of cheap paper, and more.

Go thrift shops, buy used books for your library, book shelves if you need them and etc.

Have you seen your room? What is in it? What supplies are in the school supply room, if anything?

Welcome to AtoZ

5. hescollin

hescollin Fanatic

Jul 20, 2008

question

Wondering what are some of your neat ideas?

6. michelleann27

michelleann27 Cohort

Jul 20, 2008