Im a failure

Discussion in 'General Education' started by newteacher6, May 29, 2012.

1. newteacher6

newteacher6 Rookie

May 29, 2012

I realize that I am brand new at this but I dont feel that it excuses how I have been feeling and what has been happening. Everyday I feel stressed out and completely overwhelmed. Today, I taught the entirely wrong lesson to the class. Who does this?!?!? I marked the powerpoint lesson wrong and kept going because by the time I realized it was wrong it was too late. We are doing literature circles and the lessons are similar, I didnt realize what I did. My brain is in a fog. I teach 6th grade literacy and we are doing literature circles with books on the Middle Ages. I havent had time to read all of their books so when they ask me questions, I truly do not know the answer. I know how horrible this sounds but I am so caught up with grading papers, lesson plans, and assessments I haven't had time to read each book. They are chapter books and pretty big. Also, I have no control over my class. I constantly feel uneasy and feel that I have no idea what I am saying when I teach. I have been told that I am a great teacher (during student teaching) and have been highly recommended but I feel like a fraud.