Illinois Basic Skills Test and APT-Early Childhood Test

Discussion in 'Basic Skills Tests' started by CatieCat, Apr 11, 2009.

1. CatieCat

CatieCat Rookie

Apr 11, 2009

Hello, I am an Ohio teacher who is moving to Illinois. I recently was granted a provisional teaching certificate. I have to take the Basic Skills test and the APT Early Childhood test by January of 2010. My question is...do I have to take both on the same day? I read the hours and it seems like a terribly long day from 7:15-1:00 and then 1:30-7:15. Has anyone taken both tests on the same day? How was that? Also, I plan on prepping for the Basic Skills test and I have been able to find materials. Can you prep for the APT test? Any help would be appreciated...my head is spinning!:)

3. chicagoturtle

chicagoturtle Fanatic

Apr 11, 2009

I took multiple tests in one day. It stinks- but it's doable. The day I did it, I was at the McCorrmick Place test sight and was able to get food. You can take it on separate days too. There are many test dates before 1/2010.

4. CatieCat

CatieCat Rookie

Apr 11, 2009

Thanks for the quick response! I am dreading it. Do you teach for CPS?

5. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Apr 12, 2009

If your deadlines allow, I'd recommend not taking the whole shebang in one day, CatieCat. If the APT exam is a subject matter exam rather than a pedagogy exam, you should find that the math prep for the basic skills test will help you with whatever math is on the other test.

6. CatieCat

CatieCat Rookie

Apr 12, 2009

I agree. I think that it will be too much for me. If I feel like if I do bad on the first test then it will make me not do well on the second test.

7. chicagoturtle

chicagoturtle Fanatic

Apr 12, 2009

Yes- I do.

8. CatieCat

CatieCat Rookie

May 12, 2009

Anyone take either of the two tests? Thoughts?

9. cubsfan2008

cubsfan2008 Rookie

May 14, 2009