If you have ESOL students, where are they from?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Ms.Jasztal, Aug 19, 2008.

1. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Aug 19, 2008

My ESOL student is from India! :) I can tell by having her in my classroom one day that there is quite a difference between education in this country and her country. She came from there last year, but speaks, writes, and spells perfect English.

3. little317

little317 Groupie

Aug 19, 2008

Most of my ESOL students are Hispanic. I do have one girl who is part French but I don't think she will qualify for the program since she did really well on the CELLA test yesterday. I am still yet to meet some of my kids

4. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Aug 19, 2008

Last year we had students from over 25 countries who have 43 different first languages.

5. alielizadubois

alielizadubois Companion

Aug 20, 2008

I am an ESL teacher.

In my school we have over 20 languages represented.

In the group that I taught last year I had children from more than 20 countries with 15+ languages represented!

Albania (Albanian)
    China (Mandarin and Cantonese)
    Israel (Hebrew)
    Russia (Russian)
    South Korea (Korean)
    Mexico (Spanish)
    Pakistan (Urdu)
    Lebanon (Arabic)
    Poland (Polish)
    Tunisia (French & Arabic)
    Taiwan (Chinese)
    Ukraine (Russian & Ukrainian)
    Kazakhstan (Russian & Kazakh)
    Uzbekistan (Russian & Uzbek)
    Peru (Spanish)
    Vietnam (Vietnamese)
    Guatemala (Spanish)
    Ukraine (Russian & Ukrainian)
    El Salvador (Spanish)
    Ecuador (Spanish)
    Morocco (French & Arabic)

One of the best things about my school is how incredibly diverse it is. It is such an amazing dynamic to have a classroom full of people from around the world. I love it, love it. To see the children form friendships across cultural boundaries is really outstanding.