IEPs and Read Aloud Tests

Discussion in 'General Education' started by TeachTN, Aug 20, 2014.

1. TeachTN

TeachTN Comrade

Aug 20, 2014

I have a large number of students that require oral testing (their tests are read to them). In previous years, we had EAs (teacher assistants) who would read these for us in a separate setting. Apparently this year I have to do this on my own.

Has anyone had to do a read aloud for IEP/504 plan students within the classroom while others are testing? I am not quite sure how to do this without disrupting other students. Personally, if I am taking a test and there is another noise in the room, I am completely distracted and cannot focus. I worry about those students as well as making sure to abide by the IEP. :dizzy::dizzy:

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 20, 2014

My first year as a special ed teacher, I had to do read-alouds in the classroom. I'd pull kids to the back and whisper as softly as possible. Last year with my blind student as a gen ed teacher, there was usually somebody to read for her (and pull her out). If I had to read for her, I took her to the back of the classroom, and asked the students closest to me to raise their hand if they heard me reading.

4. chitown

chitown Companion

Aug 20, 2014

I've only had to do this for an ELL student. Generally, I would take her to the back table and read quietly to her. Thankfully, none of the students in my room were bothered by it. Have you talked to your principal to see if you can borrow a para for those occasions? Maybe he or she would spring for ear plugs if it bothers others in the class. Not sure if any of that helps!

5. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Aug 20, 2014

That stinks. I hope you can somehow read to the child quietly so the others aren't bothered. My child would be so distracted by a teacher talking, even in a whisper.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Aug 20, 2014