IEP Stresses?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by ChangeAgent, Apr 21, 2008.

1. ChangeAgent

ChangeAgent Comrade

Apr 21, 2008

I am a first-year special education teacher. I have 19 students on my case-list, some of who I do not see during the day, or only during one inclusion class. I have both 9th and 10th graders. I prep for three different classes. I have been working with a new IEP internet program our district is using, and have been learning how the district writes IEPs. Of course, the transition rules and other procedures in writing have continued to change--once I think I get the hang of it, it changes. I am mostly in compliance with my IEPs, but I have loose ends here and there that still need picked up. And then there's behavior plans and Reevaluation Reports coming up. With one more IEP to write.

I feel completely overwhelmed. My fellow staff members are phenomenal, but we all have so much paperwork. My classes are (on the whole) wonderful, and I have a blast teaching.

However, I question if special education is my calling. I like to think of myself as a "big picture" person. Stupid details in an IEP that only really needs an adaptation page frustrate me. I am capable of writing strong IEPs, but I would prefer my time go to curriculum and teaching. I know the first year is tough. However, will any year actually be any better with continual changes in special education? I think knowing what I know now, next year will go better (since I will know things ahead of time instead of learning them prior to when they need to be done).

Yet . . . anyone else feel like this? Does it get better?