IEP question

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MrsTeacher2Be, May 8, 2009.

1. MrsTeacher2Be

MrsTeacher2Be Companion

May 8, 2009

I'm a first year regular ed teacher, and I've been asked to attend an IEP meeting on one of my students. I've never done one before and several of my co-workers have told me that our SPED dept likes to 'run over the rest of the teachers'... whatever that means. The really interesting thing is that this kid's parents won't show. They've made appt after appt to come for the IEP meeting but never show up, so I was told today that WE (teachers, counselor, and a VP) are going to decide everything for this child. Can we do that? I'm curious about what to expect during this meeting? Any advice?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 8, 2009

I don't see how they can do that without the parents knowing what exactly is going on. I sat in on an IEP meeting once because they needed a general ed teacher to sign off. The parents couldn't make it so the sped teacher called the parents beforehand to go over the IEP. When it came to the meeting, the sped teacher outlined what was in there, any changes that were made, and asked for questions. Then we signed. Seeing as how this is a student of yours, if there is anything you don't understand, get the sped teacher to explain it to you.

4. mrachelle87

mrachelle87 Fanatic

May 8, 2009

Wow, I have heard of adjustments being made and then the papers sent to the parents through certified mail.

Our special education director likes to control our meetings to the point where he doesn't listen to the classroom teacher. After my last meeting, the parent turned to me and apologized that he offended me. I was offended, but I told her that I was OK and I was only there for her child. My feelings weren't important. But I did go to my principal the next day.

5. Tasha

Tasha Phenom

May 8, 2009