Ideas why I can't get an interview?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Fleurdelis, Jan 13, 2020.

1. Fleurdelis

Fleurdelis Rookie

Jan 13, 2020

I have a BA in Theatre and a MA and MFA in Theatre. I was licensed in Tennessee and now Virginia. I've taught High School and College. I've taught elementary school students at the theatre where I headed educational programs. I have a lot of teaching experience.

I had two teaching interviews for jobs Virginia before I had my Virginia license. Now that i have my license, I can't even get an interview with a middle school for a drama teacher. Ideas on what's going on? I'm at a loss.

3. RainStorm

RainStorm Phenom

Jan 13, 2020

The only thing I can think of is this -- drama/theater jobs are incredibly hard to get and the competition is fierce.

Is your experience in teaching theater in a public school, or is it experience "with" school age children? To those who choose who gets interviewed, there is a big difference. If it is actual certified teaching experience, and you have many years of experience. you may have too many years of experience, which makes you more expensive. If you have more than 5 years of certified teaching experience, you "cost" significantly more than a new-to-certified-teaching teacher.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Jan 13, 2020

The Arts are the first casualties of budget cuts. Sad but true.

readingrules12 and whizkid like this.
  5. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Jan 13, 2020

The jobs are few and far between, unfortunately. The people who land those positions stay in them until they retire.

6. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Jan 14, 2020 at 6:48 AM

Any drama classes I've come across in high schools were taught by an english teacher so maybe they had dual certifications?

7. tchr4vr

tchr4vr Companion

Jan 14, 2020 at 8:33 AM