Ideas/Tips for meeting Parents/Students

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by MissTeach22, Jul 28, 2009.

1. MissTeach22

MissTeach22 Companion

Jul 28, 2009

Hi! I am a brand new teacher, so this is my first year (as some of you already know! :)). I have two open house days before the 1st day of school so that the children and their parents can meet me and see their classroom. I am planning to send a letter home introducing myself, etc. prior to open house. During the open house I am planning to introduce myself, show children the classroom (where they will be sitting, where their cubby is, etc.). I am also planning on taking a picture of each child with their parent(s)/guardian to hang up in our room, as well as a picture of the student to use to put by their cubby, mailbox, etc. I also have planned a simple activity to parents to do with their child for us to use on a bulletin board. This is for a private school so parents are extremely involved! Besides these ideas is there anything else I should be doing? Or any tips/ideas you may have? Should I have toys/crayons and paper out for the children while I am talking to the parents? I appreciate any and all suggestions! Thanks so much! :D

3. scmom

scmom Enthusiast

Jul 28, 2009

Don't let them see you sweat.
    Don't doubt yourself.
    If a parent makes a "suggestion" say thank you - you will consider it. Don't let them politely bully you into things you don't want to do.
    Greet them every time they come in the door with a smile and a hello.
    Show interest in them. Show you care by asking questions or remembering what they said previously.
    Tell them good things their kids did more than problems.
    Communicate with parents often.
    Develop a relationship with the children - if they like you and you like them, parents will like you.
    Enjoy their children - it will show.

4. Maxadoodle

Maxadoodle Comrade

Jul 29, 2009