Ideas for chatty bunch of 5th graders

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by stac4742, Sep 29, 2010.

1. stac4742

stac4742 Rookie

Sep 29, 2010

Hello everyone!!

I am needing some suggestions for dealing with very talkative students. I do provide them times to interact and work collaboratively, but they just won't stop. (I've been teaching for 6 yrs. and have'nt had this concern before this BIG)
    I have 2 periods of them and I have tried a few things that have worked a little such as:

-moving their seat from the group for excessive talking after several warnings
    -seating the class in a U-shape
    -sitting out for recess for an allotted time
    -having them complete "Think Sheets"
    -calling their parents after school

I would be so appreciative for any suggestions, or words of advice. THANK YOU!
    :rolleyes:

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Sep 29, 2010

I would have them whisper all at the same time to remind them of an acceptable noise level.
    Maybe play the student-teacher game.
    Maybe give points to quiet tables, the winner gets to choose one problem to skip for homework...
    Try making your desks in Ls or Hs or pairs...
    Try a strike program. Three strikes you're in your seat and quiet. No more group work that morning.
    Write a word on the board and erase letters. When all the letters are gone, they lose something. Or add letters when they are being to talkative and then give an extra homework problem or quiet minute at the end of the day...

Sometimes we get a chatty group, it happens. Don't let it bother you too much, just keep reminding them of the expectation.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 29, 2010

How about giving tangible rewards to the ones who are behaving? Walk around the room with skittles or tootsie rolls or something. Quietly leave one with children who are following the rules and thank them for doing the right thing.

5. jaszmyn

jaszmyn Comrade

Sep 29, 2010