Ideas for Centers

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by scrapaholic, Aug 18, 2007.

1. scrapaholic

scrapaholic Rookie

Aug 18, 2007

I am in my first year of teaching....only been in school 2 days so far...and I am really needing to set up some centers in my classroom. Any suggestions for good centers for a 3rd grade class??? Thanks!!!

3. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Aug 18, 2007

I posted these before, but here are some of the things I have done or come up with for next year... I try to be pretty simplistic. I don't like making file folder games and things-- I don't have enough time or volunteers for all that.

Centers don't need to be complicated.

-Do word sorts on index cards with spelling/phonics patterns

-making words activities with mystery words

-partner reading

-small groups doing reader's theatre scripts

-playing boggle (I have changed this game, as it's pretty hard to find decent words, and they just use the dice, shake them up and dump them out)

-have the kids dictate sentences to each other and correct them-- they can get points for words spelled correctly, using conventions, etc. They lose points for the same things and need to write misspelled words 5 times.

-recording books on tape for their peers

-doing computer games if you have them in the classroom

-writing in journals

-silent reading

-matching games with synonyms, homphones, antonyms, etc. Another good matching game is to take words that look alike like quite and quiet, which kids mix up, and they need to match those pairs and read them both

-they can practice spelling words with one another

-read with expression (have a passage to practice for fluency- read it sad, mad, happy, sarcastically, etc.- I just made that up so don't know how it would work)