Icebreakers

Discussion in 'Secondary Education Archives' started by joyoakes, Jul 6, 2006.

1. joyoakes

joyoakes Rookie

Jul 6, 2006

I am a new teacher and I would love to make the first day sort of fun with a good icebreaker activity or two. I just don't know where to look to find anything cool to do.

Thanks
    Joy

3. hernandoreading

hernandoreading Comrade

Jul 6, 2006

4. montuckygirl

montuckygirl Rookie

Jul 6, 2006

The Wilderdom website offers some great icebreakers, too. It offers Icebreakers, Warmups, Energizers, & Deinhibitizers. Sounds like an electronics store! Look under their Index to Group Activities, Games, Exercises & Initiatives.

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jul 6, 2006

How much do your kids already know each other? I know that when I get my kids in 7th grade, they already know each other and don't really seem to like the "get to know you" activities. Now, our sixth grade teachers use them--although I don't know what kind--because they get kids from three schools.

6. joyoakes

joyoakes Rookie

Jul 6, 2006

What is that website?

7. muinteoir

muinteoir Companion

Jul 6, 2006

I don't do icebreakers. My kids know each other way to well already.

I start out with procedures and do a quick observation lab to get them in the science frame of mind.

Plus, it helps me teach lab procedures.

8. montuckygirl

montuckygirl Rookie

Jul 7, 2006