I wish

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by dcnuck, May 12, 2011.

1. dcnuck

dcnuck Companion

May 12, 2011

I wish teachers would remember that just leaving lesson plans for a sub doesn't tell subs everything we need to know. I am a certified teacher who is having to sub this year and I love it when teachers leave me a detailed note about when they do this or that--like taking restroom breaks, lunch, where to pick them up from lunch, how kids get home, if there are kids that go to other classes throughout the day---stuff like that. Lesson plans do not tell me everything I need to know. Teachers also forget that just because they know what their abbreviation means doesn't mean a sub will know. Sorry just had to vent since I am really tired of subbing and really want a teaching job next year. When I do get my teaching job, if I ever need a sub I will leave a detailed note of what happens during the school day.:rolleyes:

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 12, 2011

This conversation has been had many times here before....consider that sometimes teachers really are sick and drag themselves bleary eyed to the computer to write plans...other times there might be an emergency that dictates leaving short plans on the way out the door...be flexible as a sub...that flexibility will serve you well when you do get your own classroom.

4. Proud2BATeacher

Proud2BATeacher Phenom

May 12, 2011

I put in as much detail in my sub plans as I can. I was stunned when a co-worker's plans for the day was less than 1 page. Mine are between 3-5 pages long. We do have assistants in our classroom who know our routine though, but I don't like my subs to depend on my assistants to tell them what to do. I also like my subs to take the lead in my class so that my students would listen to them.

5. dcnuck

dcnuck Companion

May 12, 2011