I was absent...what did I miss?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by eulasnopes, Feb 12, 2010.

1. eulasnopes

eulasnopes New Member

Feb 12, 2010

I am a new teacher. This questions sends chills up my spine. First, I feel like I should have something organized so that students do not have to ask me, but can go to a resource to access missed information themselves. Does anybody have a workable organization system for missed work and having it available to the kids?
    I do not want to use a white board.
    Help before I go crazy with "What did I miss?"
    Laura

3. Briana008

Briana008 Companion

Feb 12, 2010

I have one side of my bulletin board dedicated to make-up work. I have a folder for every day of the week. At the end of the day, I type the date, essential question, standard being covered, bellringer, agenda, and make-up assignment for that class. It is all in a running word document and it takes less than 5 minutes to update it every afternoon for both of my preps. I print out the page for that day (however many as I had absent students). Then I look at the list of absent students and write the name of each student on the appropriate page and it goes up in that day's folder. If there was a worksheet, I staple it to the back. If we took notes, for the make up assignment I instruct the student to copy the notes from a classmate or the binder I keep of class notes. When the kid comes in the next day, it is HIS responsibility to get the work off the board (I teach HS). If he asks me, I just point to the board.

I stumbled across this method a month or so into my first year teaching and it was a LIFESAVER!

~Briana~

4. wrice

wrice Habitué

Feb 12, 2010