I want to teach 7th or 8th grade science

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by rlee81indy, Nov 29, 2008.

1. rlee81indy

rlee81indy New Member

Nov 29, 2008

I am a soldier in Iraq and will be out in 2 years. At that time I will be almost 30. I've never gone to college and was a highschool drop out. I have always been a bit of a science geek and would love to teach it. I think 7th or 8th grade would be perfect. The problem is, I don't know if I can as I was a drop out. If I can, where do I start? College I know, but what degree do I need. All I ever see is elementary education. I plan to start my basics at Pikes Peak community college, and once I'm out of the army, move to western New York. From there, if I can, I want to attend a University to finish up. Any info would be a huge help. Thanks in advance!

3. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Nov 29, 2008

The nice thing about the US is that you get loads of second chances. I'm assuming you have your GED, since you said you plan on starting at a community college. If you complete an AA instead of an AAS, then you will be better able to transfer to a 4 year university. In general, an AA requires a certain number of "core" classes, which are the same core classes required for a BA. These are the general education courses, NOT the coursework required for your major. In addition, the AA requires that you complete a certain number of elective credits. You want to cater these elective credits toward the lower division requirements for you inteneded upper division major at the university to which you plan on transfering. Once you have completed 30 credits the university isn't going to look at your high school records. They will evaluate you as a transfer student and look only at your college transcripts. There are, of course, exceptions, but this is what you could typically expect.