I want to quit teaching right before the year starts.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by ssteacher11, Jul 29, 2011.

1. ssteacher11

ssteacher11 Rookie

Jul 29, 2011

Let me start this out by saying that I am a second-year teacher in the state of South Carolina; I teach 10th and 11th grade Social Studies. My first year went awesome; I only had positive reviews and my principal was excited to ask me to sign on for another year.

I have always had issues with anxiety, but they really started rearing their head again at the end of the year into the summer. Obviously having an anxiety disorder affects your confidence in the classroom.

My anxiety has increased ever since the school has forced me to start coaching the varsity tennis team despite the fact that I have zip-zero background in tennis. Practice has not been going well so far because I don't know anything about the sport; I've tried buying books about it and talking to other teachers.

On top of that, the school has assigned me to teach a brand new Social Studies class this year that literally has no curriculum, sending me off on my own to come up with one. Its goal is to prepare low-level students for the state exam, but my principal openly told me that no curriculum is mapped out and it's up to me to do so.

On top of THAT, I received my rosters yesterday. My classes are huge, and all of the kids that were kicked out of the school last year are seriously in my classes. I know sometimes newer teachers get a raw deal, but these are infamous kids that everyone knows about because they have criminal records. I can't even believe they are being allowed back into a regular classroom environment, to be honest with you. I had a mother who threatened me last year before her three sons were sent to an alternative school for the remainder of the year, and I have all three of her triplet sons in my classes again...