I want to pursue my dream of becoming a teacher. I’d love some feedback and advice on my situation

Discussion in 'General Education' started by BulldogLover77, Mar 28, 2019.

1. BulldogLover77

BulldogLover77 New Member

Mar 28, 2019

First, a little background on myself:

In 2011, I graduated from college with a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration. I pursued this degree in spite of multiple career assessments that suggested my best career fit (by far) was education. I always loved the idea of becoming a teacher but didn’t pursue it. Why then, you may ask, did I pursue a career in business? Two main reasons:
    1. I was a coward and went with the “safe” career choice
    2. My father felt a career in business would be the most sensible career choice (see above)
    Since graduating I’ve done well in the business world, even making a six figure salary before I was 30. The problem, however, is that I absolutely HATE my job.

I hate how impersonal it is.
    I hate how mundane it is.
    I hate how utterly unfulfilling it is on a spiritual level.
    (Now might be a good time to mention I’m a bleeding heart INFJ)

Now, let’s fast forward to today:

I’m at a point where I can no longer be productive or effective in my job. I just don’t care anymore.

I’m single and have saved up a substantial amount of money over the past few years. I also don't have a spouse or children. If I’m going to make a career change this is the time to do it. Therefore, I’ve decided to resign from my job and pursue a career in education.

I understand how hard it is to be a teacher - my mother is one. I’ve heard all the horror stories: Difficult parents, unruly students, bad administration etc. I know the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. However, I also know this:
    • I’ll never have a better time in my life to pursue a career in teaching (I have a financial cushion and no dependents)
    • Changing the life of even one student is worth the negatives