I want to get my Masters...Which subject matter would make me more marketable?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by mary2122, Jul 6, 2012.

1. mary2122

mary2122 Rookie

Jul 6, 2012

Hey everyone! I live in Connecticut however very close to the NY border and originally from there so both states are where I am searching for teaching jobs. Right now I have an elementary degree and certification in both states. I have been searching for over 3 years and have not been able to obtain a teaching position. I want to go back to school in either General science(Grades 5-9), biology (5-12), chemistry (5-12), or math (5-12). I like science a lot better and have more passion in it so I would probably pick up on it a lot easier however I know I could do math as well. What I am asking is what would make me more marketable? Thanks!

3. HWilson

HWilson Comrade

Jul 6, 2012

I know in my area, South Carolina, math is the place to be! It's much easier together a job as a math teacher and bc of it being difficult to fill those positions, your position is more secure. My degree is in Elementary Ed and I was offered a middle level math position, took it then went back and added on that certification. Surprisingly I only had to take 1 class and the PRAXIS.

Best of luck in your decision.

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Jul 6, 2012

I always here that math and science teachers are in need, so those two might be the area to look into.

5. MikeTeachesMath

MikeTeachesMath Devotee

Jul 6, 2012

Yup, STEM is the place to be right now. Would you consider adding Physics certification? I've heard time and time again that physics is the single hardest subject for principals to find teachers for.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 6, 2012