I want to break my contract

Discussion in 'General Education' started by 2ndYearTeacher, Aug 27, 2016.

1. 2ndYearTeacher

2ndYearTeacher Rookie

Aug 27, 2016

Hi all. I am a 2nd year teacher, but this is my first year at a title 1 school in Texas. I'm in an urban area, and I was assigned to teach the only ESL K class. However, I did not get the full story because that also means that I get every single student with a behavioral problem, disability, extreme health problem, speech problem, etc. I have, officially, 8 of my 20 students who have files with serious issues. Yes, it's Kindergarten so some may scoff. However, the fact that it's Kindergarten compounds the issue as this is the first introduction to structure for the vast majority of my kids. Of those 8, the files on them do not cover all I have noticed in just the first week. In addition to those 8, I have spotted 3 more that I can see have yet undiagnosed behavioral problems. I have taught K before so my expectations of behavior are very realistic. I have not been trained for the health issues nor extreme behavioral problems. Two of my students appear to be on the spectrum, but I can only ask for help as I'm in no way equipped to make that judgement nor am I prepared to handle it in a way that is best for me nor my students. My class is a zoo, with chairs turned over, students getting up and leaving, physical scuffles, students climbing tables and bookshelves. I have to yell through my instructions because they simply cannot be quiet. Positive reinforcement has done little, losing privileges has done nothing. I know it's week 1, but I've never seen anything like this. Most importantly, if I had known this I NEVER would've taken this job. I have always said I cannot do a self-contained room with health, sped, behavior issues. I expected accommodations for maybe 2 to 3 students tops, but not more than half. I know my limitations. The students have zero fear. Some cannot communicate. One sweet student knows on