I Think Recording Attendance Is Important, Isn't It?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by PoliticalFutbol, Oct 13, 2015.

1. PoliticalFutbol

PoliticalFutbol Rookie

Oct 13, 2015

As a regular teacher I didn't get it. Now retired and as a sub, I still don't.
    I got a list of students who were not to be marked absent from class.
    Periods one through three had a lot of absences.
    First hour was going to take me a long time to report which students to put on the absence list and get it sent to the office. I admit I assumed they need the first hour quickly. It was confusing, because some of the students on the list came to class first and some didn't. Also, the numbers didn't add up. I discovered there was new quiet kid in class. Yet I got it done asap and sent it down to the attendance with a reliable student.
    But I knew the next period was going to take much longer. Sure enough, 2nd hour also had a lot of absences. It was half way through the period when I decided to just report what I knew so far. I wrote on the slip that I didn't have time, but felt at this point (half way through the period), that it was necessary to tell them who was absent asap. I also explained there were many absences and suggested that an alphabetized list of students would help. The list they gave me was alphabetized by first hour teacher, not by student and was several pages long.
    I got a call asking if I needed a list. I explained. They sent down the same list I already had!
    Between classes I talked to a neighboring teacher. She said it was awful, but when I said, at least she probably got it as an excel file so she could alphabetize it, she seemed lost in the conversation.

I think recording of attendance is important, isn't it?

I didn't get it before computers when I taught math and science for many years, and now as a retired sub, I still dont' get it.