I think I'm going to get in trouble. Do you think I will be able to find another job?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by pinkcupcake90, Feb 23, 2016.

1. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Feb 23, 2016

Hi, everybody.

I'm working as a long-term sub in New Jersey. I'm a first year teacher going through ALTERNATE ROUTE. I'm finishing up my standard teaching license at Rutgers via Alternate Route.

Anyway, I used to think that this high school was the place I wanted to be forever. I do love my job, but man, do I hate this district. I dread going to work every single day.

To make matters worse, I said something today to a student that I regret. It involved a curse word. May God forgive me. I am a failure and I'm looking to resign as soon as possible, especially since the students chat and gossip like crazy. I don't know what's come over me, but I should have held my tongue. I'm just going through a rough time what with being in and out of the hospital for depression.

The student was being such a smart alec and trying to put me down in front of the entire class by telling me I can't spell or create a grammatically correct sentence. When another student corrected me, I thanked her, and the other student shouted, "Why do you thank her and bash me for pointing out your mistakes?" I replied with this: "Because there's a difference between being helpful and being a d-bag."

I plan to apologize to the student, but I think my teaching career is over. Should I resign from my job now before my boss finds out what I said?

Last edited: Feb 23, 2016
  3. miatorres

miatorres Comrade

Feb 23, 2016

I don't think that you shoould resign from your job because you've come this far and there are only about four months left in the school year. As other teachers (including myself) have said in other threads, this sounds like a bad school and you probably just need to switch to a better one.